40 Days Without Chocolate or Fizzy Drinks!

Lately I have been getting more and more anxious to get healthy and improve my diet.

If you know me at all then you know that I love chocolate and that I tend to eat a lot of it!  I also drink a lot of fizzy drinks, mainly because I don’t drink tea or coffee (yes yes I know I’m a freak!) and water doesn’t always appeal to me.

Anyway Lent is usually a time of year when I make some kind of lame half hearted attempt to give something up but never stick to it.  However I’m absolutely determined to stick to it this year.  I quite often eat chocolate and really regret it afterwards.

The problem is that I honestly think I am addicted to it.  If I go two or three days without chocolate I genuinly get withdrawal symptons and crave chocolate badly.  The first few days will be the toughest.  Seriously I cannot explain how hard this will be for me.  I love chocolate and eat it in some form practically everyday of my life.  A day without is a rarity for me.

To make it even more challenging though I want to quit fizzy drinks as well.  Mainly because they are not good for you at all.

So these are my rules:

No chocolate of any kind or in any form.

The only fizzy drinks I can have are  fizzy flavoured water.

No Coca Cola, Diet Coke, Sprite etc.

And I’m going to blog my way through the next 40 days so you can keep up to date with how I’m doing.  I would appreciate your support during this so please leave comments to help me keep focussed.

Plus I feel that if people actually know what I’m doing (ie you reading this right now!!!) then I’d HAVE to stick to it!!

But please please don’t offer me chocolate if you see in person!!

Thankyou……………….coming tomorrow Day 1: How it went!

Posted on February 24, 2009, in Lent Challenge and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. go for it Ian. Our Lent challenge is to try and spend less than £2 a day on unnecessary items (petrol, food and utilities don’t count!) as that is what the majority of people on our planet have to live on each day.
    We’ll hold you to it definitely and enjoy eating a choc egg with you at our after Easter holidays!!

Please Leave a Reply